The Front Range Open is the annual tournament hosted by the Fort Collins Table Tennis Club.
6th Annual Front Range Open :: The Tournament was a great success
Thank you to all who participated in this year's 6th Annual Front Range Open, a 0-Star USATT Sanctioned Tournament. If you have any questions, you can Contact the Tournament Director.
Article submitted to USATT Magazine

The Fort Collins Table Tennis Club is happy to report the 6th annual 2008 Front Range Open was a great success with a full draw of 32 players. It was especially fun to welcome a great number of new, first time USATT members this year (13 in all). It is always exciting to see new players get excited about the sport of table tennis. Beginner and veteran players alike enjoyed watching the thrilling matches between junior player Austin Preiss (age 14, rated 2026) and his competitors as well as many other matches throughout the day. Austin is the defending champion from last year's Front Range Open Tournament. Austin's victory last year made fans of a number of the club members who did not participate, and they returned this year to watch the 14 year old take on the older players and win the grand prize of the tournament, as well as to enjoy the high quality of table tennis played by many of the players in this tournament.

The tournament this year included many upsets but the top two seeds (Austin Preiss, rated 2026 from Colorado Springs, CO and David Vollmar, rated 1967 from Boulder, CO) moved through the draw without losing a match. And Austin took the title in four games with a reasonably close 4, 7,-5, 9 victory. The upsets were partially due to the large number of unranked players whose abilities varied quite a lot. Overall it proved to be as entertaining to watch as to participate.

The tournament provided each participant with 7-8 matches and a chance to win a trophy until the end of their 7th or 8th match. Twelve participants walked away with trophies and the overall tournament champion, also won the $125 Division A winner's check. Our format this year included a morning round robin with 8 groups of 4 that seeded all entries into the afternoon round robins into Divisions A, B, C and D that each had 2 groups of 4. The top two in the afternoon round robins moved on to the division winner's single elimination and the bottom two each went into the division's consolation single elimination

We thank all the participants, sponsors, and the City of Fort Collins for helping make this tournament successful. Special thanks to Katie Stieber, Ron Lusk, Johan Alfredeen, David Ruhberg, Judd Disch, Mike Hardin, Kings Lui, Bryon Kippschull, Charleste and Mike King, and all the people who helped through your hard work, donations and assistance.

For more information on the Fort Collins Table Tennis Club and detail results of this tournament see


    DIVISION A: 1st Austin Preiss; 2nd David Vollmar; Consolation Winner Daniel Padilla
    DIVISION B: 1st Kings Lui; 2nd Allen Huffman; Consolation Winner Mike Hardin
    DIVISION C: 1st Gokal Shah; 2nd Christopher Elia; Consolation Winner Ross Zwisler
    DIVISION D: 1st Don Taylor; 2nd Tim Stella; Consolation Winner Asa Venekamp

Fort Collins Table Tennis Club, and the City of Fort Collins.
Fort Collins Senior Center, 1200 Raintree Drive, Fort Collins, CO. (970)221-6645
Practice from 8:15am to 9:45, check-in by 9:30. Matches start at 10. Tournament ends at 6:30.
Tournament format
All players will be placed in preliminary round robin groups (up to 8 groups with 4 players each) to determine what division they will participate in. Group winners advance to division A, second place finishers advance to division B, third place finishers advance to division C and fourth place finishers advance to division D. In each division, two round robin groups of 4 players each will be formed. Top two finishers in each round robin group will advance to a single elimination semifinal for the division championship. The bottom two finishers in each round robin group will advance to single elimination consolation bracket. Assuming 32 players enter, all players will play at least 7 matches with some playing up to 8. All matches will be best 3 of 5. Tournament committee will rate unrated players. Limit pre-match warmups to 2 minutes. USATT membership is required for this event.
Entry Deadline
All entries must be received by 5:00pm Thursday October 23, 2008. The first 32 paid entries will be accepted.
Tournament Committee
Johan Alfredeen, Judd Disch and Dave Ruhberg. Ron Lusk will be the referee.
Banda 3 star orange 40mm balls will be used. Provided by All matches will be played on a standard hardwood gymnasium floor using an assortment of tables and nets, all USATT approved.
All USATT regulations apply, including dress code (absolutely no orange/red shirts or large decals allowed). Tournament Committee reserves the right to modify format to accommodate the number of entries or cancel event and refund money in case of insufficient entries. Minors must be accompanied by an adult. All players must sign USATT waiver form before they begin play.
Proof of USATT membership is required. Membership may be purchased on the day of the event. Players who do not want to purchase a full membership may purchase a tournament pass at a cost of $10. You may not purchase a tournament pass if you were previously a USATT member or have ever purchased a tournament pass. USATT membership information available at
$125 will be awarded to division A winner. Also, trophies will be awarded to the top 2 finishers in each division and the top finisher in each consolation bracket.
Send copy of entry form to Johan Alfredeen, 4100 Suncrest Dr, Fort Collins, CO 80525. A copy of this form can be found at Please, no phone entries. Make checks payable to Johan Alfredeen. Players can also signup and pay online at
Tournament Sponsors:
Sponsored by   Sponsored by City of Fort Colllins     Sponsored by Ratings Central
Previous Years Results 
Footnotes Site Meter Official Sanctioned Club of
Non-Profit Website Support
Cynthia Tested! Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict! [Valid RSS] - free web hosting. Free hosting with no banners.